fbpx

The Revolutionists

2023 Comedy
September 8 - September 23, 2023 Evenings at 7:30pm • Sunday matinees at 2pm

The Revolutionists

Overview

The Revolutionists is a new play about four very real women who lived boldly in France during the French Revolution’s Reign of Terror. Playwright Olympe De Gouge, assassin Charlotte Corday, former queen (and fan of ribbons) Marie Antoinette, and Haitian rebel Marianne Angelle hang out, murder Marat, lose their heads and try to beat back the extremist insanity in the Paris of 1793. What was a hopeful revolution for the people is now sinking into hyper-violent hypocritical male rhetoric. However will modern audiences relate? This grand and dream-tweaked comedy is about violence and legacy, art and activism, feminism and terrorism, compatriots and chosen sisters, and how we actually go about changing the world.

It’s a true story. Or total fiction. Or a play about a play. Or a raucous resurrection…that ends in a song and a scaffold.

“A sassy, hold-on-to-your-seats theatrical adventure…wonderfully wild and raucous…” – Cincinnati Enquirer

IF YOU LIKED: The Women (2019), Or, (2013)

Venue

Washington Center Black Box
estimated run time 2 hrs 0 min
  • House Opens
  • Act 1 (50 mins)
  • Intermission (20 mins)
  • Act 2 (50 mins)
  • Show Ends

Get Tickets

Opening Night Fri, Sep 8
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 9
2:00 PM
Sat, Sep 9
7:30 PM
Sun, Sep 10
2:00 PM
Thu, Sep 14
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 15
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 16
2:00 PM
Sat, Sep 16
7:30 PM
Sun, Sep 17
2:00 PM
Wednesday Matinee Wed, Sep 20
2:00 PM
Thu, Sep 21
7:30 PM
Fri, Sep 22
7:30 PM
Sat, Sep 23
2:00 PM
Closing Night Sat, Sep 23
7:30 PM